Skip to Main Content
Dr. Lawrence C. Loh

Dr. Lawrence C. Loh
MD, MPH, CCFP, FCFP, FRCPC, FACPM

Executive Director and CEO
Toronto, Ontario

Dr. Lawrence C. Loh completed his undergraduate training and medical school at Western University, and his residency at the University of Toronto during which time he also earned a Master of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University. He is a Fellow of the College of Family Physicians of Canada and also holds Fellowship in Public Health and Preventive Medicine with the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the American College of Preventive Medicine.

Dr. Loh became the Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer of the CFPC in September 2022. He began this role following more than a decade of senior medical leadership positions in the public sector, during which he served at all three levels of government in two provinces, including the Public Health Agency of Canada and Fraser Health Authority in British Columbia. While working at Public Health Ontario he was seconded as a senior medical consultant to the Ministry of Health in the Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health.

Prior to his role at the CFPC, Dr. Loh was the Medical Officer of Health for the Region of Peel, best known for leading the Peel Public Health team through the COVID-19 pandemic. After assuming the position in March 2020, Dr. Loh and the team directed measures to save lives and mitigate the impacts of COVID-19 in one of the hardest hit communities in Canada while also helping deliver the largest vaccination rollout in Canadian history. Before the pandemic Dr. Loh served as one of Peel’s Associate Medical Officers of Health with a portfolio focused on environmental health, health equity, and digital health.

Currently, Dr. Loh is also Adjunct Professor at the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at the University of Toronto and a clinical lecturer at the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. His teaching and research foci have spanned the fields of global health development, global health ethics, and public health physician training and practice.

Dr. Loh’s leadership and service have been recognized by colleagues and the public. He has received the Key to the City of Mississauga, an Award of Recognition from the Town of Caledon, and was named as one of Toronto Life’s Top 50 Influential Torontonians in 2021, among other academic, teaching, and practice awards.

Dr. Loh is an avid runner and enjoys spending time with family and friends, travelling, playing the piano, and writing. He lives in Toronto with his wife, a practising family physician, and two young daughters.
 

No results found.

No results found.

No results found.

Passer au contenu principal
D<sup>r</sup> Lawrence C. Loh

Dr Lawrence C. Loh
MD, MSP, CCMF, FCMF, FRCPC, FACPM

Directeur général et chef de la direction
Toronto (Ontario)

Le Dr Lawrence C. Loh a fait ses études de premier cycle et de médecine à l’Université Western, avant de faire sa résidence à l’Université de Toronto. Il a également obtenu une maîtrise en santé publique de l’Université Johns Hopkins. Il est Fellow du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et détient aussi le titre de Fellow en santé publique et en médecine préventive du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada et de l’American College of Preventive Medicine.

Le Dr Loh est devenu directeur général et chef de la direction du CMFC en septembre 2022. Il a assumé ce rôle après avoir occupé pendant plus d’une décennie des postes de direction médicale dans le secteur public, où il a travaillé aux trois paliers de gouvernement dans deux provinces, notamment pour l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et la Fraser Health Authority en Colombie‑Britannique. Pendant qu’il travaillait à Santé publique Ontario, il a été détaché comme médecin‑conseil principal auprès du ministère de la Santé, au bureau du médecin hygiéniste en chef.

Avant d’occuper son rôle au CMFC, le Dr Loh était médecin hygiéniste de la région de Peel et était surtout connu pour avoir dirigé l’équipe de santé publique de Peel durant la pandémie de COVID‑19. Après avoir assumé ses fonctions en mars 2020, le Dr Loh et son équipe ont pris les mesures nécessaires pour sauver des vies et atténuer les répercussions de la COVID‑19 dans une des régions les plus durement touchées au pays, tout en contribuant à la plus grande campagne de vaccination de l’histoire du Canada. Avant la pandémie, le Dr Loh était l’un des médecins hygiénistes adjoints de Peel. Ses responsabilités étaient alors axées sur la santé environnementale, l’équité en matière de santé et la santé numérique.

Aujourd’hui, le Dr Loh occupe aussi les postes de professeur associé à la Dalla Lana School of Public Health de l’Université de Toronto et de professeur d’enseignement clinique au Département de médecine familiale et communautaire de l’Université Queen’s à Kingston, en Ontario. Ses domaines d’enseignement et de recherche couvrent le développement de la santé mondiale, l’éthique de la santé mondiale, ainsi que la formation et la pratique des médecins en santé publique.

Le leadership et le service du Dr Loh sont reconnus par ses pairs et par le public. Entre autres prix universitaires, d’enseignement et de pratique, il a reçu la clé de la ville de Mississauga de même qu’un prix de reconnaissance de la ville de Caledon. De plus, il a été nommé par le magazine Toronto Life l’un des 50 Torontois les plus influents en 2021.

Le Dr Loh s’adonne avec passion à la course à pied et aime passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis, voyager, jouer du piano et écrire. Il habite à Toronto avec sa conjointe, qui est médecin de famille praticienne, et ses deux jeunes filles.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.

Aucun résultat trouvé.